Alishan Kaofeng Hotel

20170602_183352.jpgThe weather in Alishan is relatively cold, so is ideal that the hotel you stay ought to have something to keep you warm.

The hotel that we stay has no air con. That being said, the room is cold even if there is no air con. At night I felt some cold air coming in and I had to use the blanket and cannot kick it out.

There is a heater as well in the room. However, it only can be felt when you are near the heater so even if you on, it is relatively useless?

The mattress has also heater function as well and you can use it to keep the bed warm as well. I struggle for the night with the mattress as when I cover the blanket, I felt very hot but when I do not cover it was very cold.20170602_172551.jpg

Other than which, the hotel also provide morning call for people to go up to view the sunrise and even tell you the time to the train to see the sunrise or what time is the sunrise for the next day. You can also arrange with the hotel staff to see the sunrise via van. Below is the clock for the various time you need to note to see the sunrise

20170603_085253

Time for the train to see the sunrise

20170603_085333

Morning call timing if you want to see the sunrise

a

Sunrise timing

Breakfast is provided but not other meals but they have a working relationship with Shan Bin restaurant.

Relative convenient to go to shopping area from the hotel as the staircase to the shopping area is just beside it. When you finish climbing the stairs, you will reach the visitor centre which is also the shopping.

Recommend this hotel (not being paid). But I would recommend you to book a room in Alishan before you reach so that you can as them to help arrange a van to pick you up as it is relatively far to walk

Day 6 JY-TCH

Today wanted to wake up at about 5am to see sunrise even though cannot go to Zhu San. My hope was to see the sunrise near my hotel. However, when I woke up, I hear the sound of the rain and decide that I shall give the sun rise a miss.

Breakfast was at the hotel itself. It was a simple Taiwan breakfast, porridge with side dishes and as well some bun. It was slightly cold to eat the breakfast as the breakfast area has 2 doors around and they are open. When the wind blows, we can feel the coldness coming in.

After breakfast, I decided to bear the wind and try to explore Alishan area, the shopping area of Alishan.

20170603_083719

Entrance to a park, that is near tot the postal office

20170603_083535

Postal office at Alishan, look at the traditional building

20170603_084646

2170m above sea level and the temperature at 13 degrees

20170603_084536

Bus station in the park before it moved to the current 

We wanted to take the 1010 bus to Fengchihu from Alishan. However, due to the rain, the road was shut off and the bus to Fengchihu did not come instead it stopped at Shizuo, some distance from Alishan. What makes all this incident worst was that none of the information was available online. Thus, we did not know whether the bus route was cancelled or was it rerouted or will it come or not. I had to make multiple phonecall to the company to check on the bus status. However, after 3 phone call did I confirm stop at Shizuo to go to Fengchihu and will not go to Alishan. Thus, knowing this, I knew that it was not possible for me to take the train to Jiayi from Fengchihu. I was concerned about the train ticket which was bought the day before. So I had to call the train company on what to do with the ticket. They told me first that I need to refund it half an hour before the departure of the train. I was like I need to do it now as there will be no way for me to reach another train station to refund the ticket. So I checked and confirmed that the Alishan train station allows the person to refund the ticket. So bearing the rain, I decided to go and refund it. Needless to say the train station was closed. So I called the company again to realise that the train to Jiayi from Fengchihu is also not operating and we can refund any time.

That above is my short incident with the public transport operator in Taiwan. More on public transport in Taiwan in another blog post.

If you are in Alishan, it is recommended for you to go to Fengchihu for a short walk as well. There is an old street and people always go there to try Fengchihu bento, which they say is unique and also very traditional. From there you can try the Alishan forest train, which is also a different experience from taking other trains as well. As the train from Fengchihu to Alishan is not yet functional yet. It is recommended that you take the 1010 bus from Alishan to Fengchihu then take 1400 train to Jiayi. The forest train also links the Alishan shopping area to other part of the forest as well which you can enjoy the scenery and serenity.

20170603_120639

Places that you can go from Alishan

 

I took the 1240 bus to Jiayi from Alishan as that was the first one out of Alishan. Reaching at 3pm at Jiayi. From the bus stop, you need to cross the road to go back to the train station. Then taking the 320pm from Jiayi to Taichung.

Reaching at about 515pm at Taichung. As the train station just moved into a new building, so is relatively confusing at times on how to go to the bus stop. But just look out for the signboard that reads Jianguo Road. Down the escalator, walk straight and turn right to go to the old Taichung train station. Though it has moved, it is now a place to buy souvenirs  especially Sunshin Biscuit. However, do not rush to buy it here. Will recommend you a place in my blog for Day 7.

The bus stop is outside the old train station, turn left to the bus stop to take bus to Fengjia night market, bus 33 or 35 which is also close to where I am staying for the night.

Was confused by the information board at the bus station which caused me to take the bus from the wrong side and ended up further away from where I intend to go.

After over an hour of travelling by bus, we manage to reach the place we intended.

Dinner was at Fengjia night market. This night market is near to Fengjia University. To reach the night market, there are many ways to it depending on where you are at. It is not really crowded and that the road is relatively broad and comfortable to walk. There is a 2 shopping centre which you ought to walk inside too or you will out as well. Like a famous BBQ beef thats there or another which has tables for you to sit down as well.

 

20170603_215332.jpg

Fengjia University which you ca see when you are at the night market

Thats all for Day 6